Nicaragua – with a total land area of 46,1604. sq. miles – is the largest country in Central America. It is bordered on the south by Costa Rica; and on the north by Honduras, on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the east by the Caribbean Sea. The country has three distinct geographic zones: a) the Pacific Lowlands, b) the North-central Mountains, and c) the Caribbean lowlands, also known as the Mosquito (Miskito) Coast. Surprisingly, the national sport here is baseball rather than soccer. Of particular interest to the BLAC FOUNDATION here are the Creole, Misquito, and Garífuna populations of the Caribbean coast. For more about these and other groups see Dr. E. Powe’s The Lore of the Caribbean, Part I: The Black Caribs .

The Corn Islands, Nicaragua

error: Content is protected !!